• A school board member in New York State serves as a state official. The board's powers are derived from the state Constitution, laws of New York State, and rulings of the state Commissioner of Education.  As elected representatives, board members ensure that the school remains responsive to the needs of district residents by serving as a link between school and community. The Board of Education establishes official policy and sets goals for the school district. Board decisions can be made only by the Board acting as a whole in a public meeting.  

      The Sherman Central School District Board of Education consists of five members, elected at-large by the voters of the district at the annual meeting. Each member is elected for a five-year term.

                  Brian Bates - President                                Timothy Sears - Vice President
    Term of Office - July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2024     Term of Office - July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2025
          Teresa Guzman - Board Member                        Kristin Irwin - Board Member
    Term of Office - July 1, 2023 to June 30, 2028    Term of Office - July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2027
                                                Emily Reynolds - Board Member
                                         Term of Office - July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2026
    Meetings are normally held at 5:30pm in the Auditorium. To view the meeting schedule please click here.